Home > Comicguy's Intro

Comicguy's Intro

April 17th, 2022 at 01:33 pm

Hey everyone, this is my first attempt at blogging and hoping to use it as a way to keep me more motivated on my finacial journey towards retirement.

A little background info:

Currently 52 married to my wife for 30 years! One son who is 29 and married. I have been a teacher now for 18 years 3 years as a substitute and now 15 at my current school. Looking to hit the 20 year mark at my current school to lock in the healh insurance for retirment.

Prior to going back to school at 29 for education, I worked a lot of low paying dead end jobs (retail counter, wharehouse, construction laborer, retail management) Then my big break came when I started my own business which I ran for 6 years before I gave up and went back to college to pursue my degree in teaching high school social studies (BS) and high school special education(MS). After starting my teaching career I stated to make head way on our debt at the same time my wife was able to get a county gov't job (which she is now the director of her department) So the first 5 years of our professional careers we spent paying down debt and started our retirment accounts (she a 457 and me a 403b, both being gov't employees we also have a pension plan as well) we both started with 25/ paycheck (have to start somewhere) while paying down our debt (CC's, studnet loans, personal loans, business loans, etc...) Anyway, we made really good headway and as each was paid off we increased our contributions to current level 500/paycheck (for each of us) to these accounts in addition to other savings accounts accounts (which I am sure I will delve into in a future post). 

Retirement accounts as of now:





Roth - Me

Brokerage-Both (just started end of last year - self managed)


Credit Union Savings-Both

Current Debts as of now:

House- owe about 40K

Vehicles - 2 cars, when it comes to cars we each get a new car about every 10 years as needed. We stager the payments so we don't have 2 car payments at a time (my wife's car is a 2015 Forester, paid) My car is a 2020 Corolla hybrid (3 years left to pay at 0% int). We are not fancy car people just looking for good solid cars that get the job done. We only will buy when interest in .9% or less, no reason for us to finance at a greater rate!

Anyway, I think that will wrap up things for now



3 Responses to “Comicguy's Intro”

  1. Wink Says:

    Welcome! Looking forward to hearing more about your financial goals/journey.

  2. Turtle Lover Says:


  3. LuckyRobin Says:

    Hi. I'm also 52, and have been married to my husband for 27 years, but we've been together for 32. I always feel like such a rare bird because no one seems to stay together that long anymore. Nice to know there's a few more out there.

Leave a Reply

(Note: If you were logged in, we could automatically fill in these fields for you.)
Will not be published.

* Please spell out the number 4.  [ Why? ]

vB Code: You can use these tags: [b] [i] [u] [url] [email]